Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Recent News and Highlights

Dr. Warren Bickel wins the Med Associates Brady Schuster Award.

Dr. Warren Bickel has won the Med Associates Brady Schuster Award from Division 28 of the American Psychological Association (Psychopharmacology and Substance abuse).

Dr. Marta Wilson Receives Corporate Heroine in Technology Award

Dr. Marta Wilson, alumnus of the Industrial/Organizational doctoral program, has been honored with the Corporate Heroine in Technology Award, which is presented annually by the Armed Forces Communications and Electronics Association (AFCEA NOVA) and the March of Dimes to recognize women who exemplify volunteer service and make their communities a better place to live. 

Kristy Benoit Awarded Matarazzo Scholarship for Dissertation Research

Kristy E. Benoit,  graduate student in clinical psychology was granted the 2011 Ruth G. and Joseph D.

Undergraduate Psychology Major Selected as Young Ambassador

Undergraduate psychology major, Philipp Kotlaba, has been selected as a Young Ambassador by the German Academic Exchange Program (Deutscher Akademischer Austausch Dienst - DAAD) for the current academic year.

University Distinguished Professor Thomas Ollendick awarded honorary doctorate from Stockholm University

University Distinguished Professor of Psychology Thomas H. Ollendick  has received an honorary doctorate from Stockholm University. He is one of 10 individuals internationally who will receive the honor. An honorary doctorate is one of the university’s most coveted recognitions and is an expression of the university’s appreciation of outstanding academic contributions. For more details on Dr.

Ryan Smith Receives 2011 William Preston Society Master’s Thesis Award

Ryan Smith, graduate student in the Industrial/Organizational Psychology program, has been selected to receive the 2011 William Preston Society Master’s Thesis Award in the category of Social Sciences, Business, and Education. The William Preston Society is comprised of the current president and past presidents of Virginia Tech, and former board of director members. The award will presented at the annual meeting of the William Preston Society on September 16, 2011.

Kirby Deater-Deckard and colleagues receive NSF grant to develop games to teach math.

Kirby Deater-Deckard and colleagues in education, math, and engineering will receive an award from NSF for the proposal, “Gateways to Algebraic Motivation, Engagement and Success (GAMES): Supporting and Assessing Fraction Proficiency with Game-Based, Mobile Applications and Devices.” The grant will allow them to develop new games for handheld devices that help middle school students master pre-algebra concepts and examine how individual differences in "engagement" interact with the technology in influencing learning outcomes.

Brenda Salley receives honorable mention in annual dissertation competition.

Clinical graduate student Brenda Salley’s dissertation, “Relating Infants’ Social Attention to their Emerging Language Skills,” has been chosen to receive ‘honorable mention’ in the 2010-2011 James McKeen Cattell Dissertation competition sponsored by the Psychology Section of the New York Academy of Sciences.

Warren Bickel Selected for Distinguished Speaker Series

Dr. Warren Bickel, Professor of Psychology and in the Virginia Tech Carilion Research Institute, has been selected by the American Psychological Association (APA) Science Directorate and Board of Scientific Affairs to be one of the 2012 APA Distinguished Scientist Lecturers.

Brenna Maddox Receives GSA Graduate Research Development Award

Brenna Maddox, graduate student in clinical psychology, received a Graduate Research Development Award from the Graduate Student Assembly in support of her thesis research.